The Loschwitz Bridge in Dresden is also called the “Blaues Wunder”. She connects Blasewitz and Loschwitz with each other. On 1.9.1893, construction began on the fifth Dresden Elbe bridge, which until 1912 was still called the König Albert Bridge.
The bridge “Blaues Wunder” (literally: blue miracle; figuratively: German idiom for a great surprise or shock) is a peculiar bridge. It is a suspension bridge. The lanes have been fixed to the bridge with riveted flat iron ties.
A bridge is planned
For many years, the villages on the right bank of the Elbe between Pirnau and Loschwitz could only be reached by a single footpath. However, the Körnerweg had the great disadvantage that it was impassable during high water or icy conditions. Then one had to walk the long way over the plateau to today’s Bautzner Straße to cross the Elbe.
In 1837, with the start of shipping on the Elbe, it was initially hoped to have created a better connection. But the ferry connection between Loschwitz and Blasewitz was quickly overloaded and could not run at night. It was not long before the villa owners in Loschwitz demanded a better connection by means of a bridge.
In 1880, the Royal Directorate of Hydraulic Engineering formulated the requirements that a new bridge over the Elbe should meet. Among other things, these included that certain iron structures should be chosen for the main openings, that the bridge should be 135 meters wide and have two flood openings at least 55 meters wide to the right and left of the main opening. The lower edge of the structure was also specified as 10 meters above the zero water level.
The first designs were submitted and funds for construction were approved. Nevertheless, it still took quite a while, namely until 1887, until a design could be submitted to the state parliament and again several years until the groundbreaking ceremony took place.
The Loschwitz Bridge – the “Blue Wonder of Dresden
On 1. April 1891, construction work began with the groundbreaking ceremony for Dresden’s fifth bridge over the Elbe, which was still called König-Albert-Brücke until 1912. Assembly of the iron structure began in October 1891 and lasted until the end of October 1892. After the roadway, the footpath and the streetcar tracks had been laid, the ceremonial opening took place on 15. July 1893.
They are not vertically fixed to loops as they normally would be on other suspension bridges, they hang from bars that form two frameworks. Joints made of steel springs serve as brakes and movement within the bridge is not possible without a certain amount of tension. The bridge was made of wrought iron pieces.
During its construction, the bridge was regarded as very unusual because despite its great width it did not need a river bridge pier to be stable. That’s why it got called a miracle. It got its name “Blaues Wunder”, blue miracle, because of its light blue colour.
Even today, people believe the legend that the bridge was originally painted green, but that the colour magically transformed into light blue overnight. There is evidence, however, that shows that the bridge has been blue all along.
The citizens of Dresden managed to prevent the detonation of the bridge. Two tram lines used to cross the bridge until 1985.
Today, due to a reduced working load limit, only vehicles up to 15 tons are allowed on the bridge. This bridge, which officially goes by the name Loschwitzer Brücke, is the oldest bridge that crosses the Elbe and became a landmark of the city.
Sights near the Blue Wonder
- Overhead railway Dresden
- Leonhardi Museum of the City of Dresden
- Dresden State Art Collections Josef Hegenbarth Archive
Information about the Blue Wonder in Dresden
Directions to the Blue Wonder
By public transport, you can take the bus or the streetcar. The following lines stop at the Blaues Wunder.
Streetcar lines 6, 12
Bus lines 61, 63, 65 – stop Schillerplatz
Where can I park at the Blaues Wunder?
There is a parking lot at Fidelio-F.-Finke-Straße 4. From there it is only a few meters walk to the bridge.
Is there a ship landing stage at the Blaues Wunder?
The Sächsische Dampfschiffahrts-GmbH & Co. Conti Elbschiffahrts KG operates the Blasewitz landing stage in the immediate vicinity of the bridge. During the city tour you can discover Dresden from a different perspective.
Who was the architect of the Blue Wonder Bridge?
Claus Köpcke, Privy Councillor in the Saxon Ministry of Finance, was actually entrusted with the task of expanding the Saxon railroad network. However, the subject of a stiffened suspension bridge seemed to excite him. When the bridge near Loschwitz was earmarked for rail traffic, he got involved in the planning with the support of Manfred Krüger.
How long is the Blue Wonder Bridge in Dresden?
The bridge is 280 meters long.